Uncategorized

Welcome to the Vegan MoFo!


October 1st is a great day for many reasons. Not only is it the first day of the year that sounds like fall (at least in Texas) and World Vegetarian Day, but October 1st also marks the first day of the Vegan Month of Food, more commonly referred to as Vegan MoFo.

 

I switch to a plant-based vegan diet on November 1st last year and I spent a lot of time perusing the internet for resources, recipes, motivation, encouragement, success stories, etc. While doing this I kept coming across articles and recipes that referenced Vegan MoFo and I left like such a loser because I had no idea what it was. I didn’t just want to be vegan; I also wanted to be a cool vegan so I did some research to find out what it was.

I was so disappointed when I realized there was an entire month dedicated to vegan food and I had missed it! I kept thinking, “If only I had become vegan sooner.” This year I decided that not only did I want to be in-the-know on what was going on during Vegan MoFo, I also wanted to really be a part of it. So I signed up to be one of the hundreds of people around the world who is dedicated to blogging about vegan food for a month. Should be pretty easy for me since that’s what I love to do anyway.

Here is a list of all the other amazing blogs that are a part of Vegan MoFo organized by state, and here’s a list organized by category. My blog is listed for the state of Texas and also in the Healthy/Whole Foods category.

For those of you who are reading my blog for the first time, Welcome! I’m glad you’re here and I hope you come back. You can check out my About Me page to find out more about me and my general story, and sometime this month I’ll also be adding a page about my vegan journey. I’ll go into more detail about why I decided to make the switch and what it’s been like for me over the past 11 months.

My goal with this blog is to show people that following a vegan diet is FUN, easy, and really enjoyable. I’ll be posting pictures of the food I eat and cook, and if it’s good enough then I’ll post the recipe too. Not only am I passionate about making healthy vegan food taste GREAT, I’m also passionate about fitness and being active so I’ll be writing about that as well. I’m currently training for a relay triathlon where I’m doing the running portion (a 10k, which is 6.2 miles) and I’m planning to run the Austin Marathon in February (26.2 miles).

I try to post once a day but occasionally life will get away from me and I’ll miss one, and sometimes I have a lot to say and end up doing a two-a-day. I love getting feedback from my readers so feel free to leave comments on the blogs you like, the blogs you don’t like, ask questions, make suggestions, etc. Feel free to take a look at some of my past posts and comment on those too!

I’m pretty excited for Vegan MoFo and for having a real reason to be talking about vegan food for an entire month! : )

1 thought on “Welcome to the Vegan MoFo!”

Leave a comment